Standards to support learning and assessment in practice
Art & Science Previous     Next

Standards to support learning and assessment in practice

Trish Houghton Academic school co-ordinator (standards, enhancement and the learner experience) and senior lecturer, Faculty of Wellbeing and Social Sciences, University of Bolton, Bolton, England

This is the first article in a series of 11 that will offer guidance to new and existing mentors and practice teachers to enable them to develop in their role and help them to gather a portfolio of evidence that meets the Nursing and Midwifery Council’s Standards to Support Learning and Assessment in Practice (SSLAP). This article provides background to the development of the standards and outlines the SSLAP, including the four main stages of the framework, the eight domains and outcomes, and the five principles required for the roles of mentor, sign-off mentor and practice teacher. The requirements for maintaining the mentor and practice teacher roles are explored.

Nursing Standard. 30, 22, 41-46. doi: 10.7748/ns.30.22.41.s46


Peer review

All articles are subject to external double-blind peer review and checked for plagiarism using automated software.

Received: 19 January 2012

Accepted: 12 October 2012