Specialist awards: the winners
Intended for healthcare professionals
Feature Previous     Next

Specialist awards: the winners

The winners from our specialist nursing award categories

Rosa Ungpakorn won the Advanced Nursing Practice (ANP) category for her Westminster Street Nurse project, which delivers on-the-spot clinical assessment, diagnosis and treatment to people sleeping on the street. Previously, street outreach in the area had been limited to a once-weekly shift. Now, nurses assess a range of issues, including infections, musculoskeletal pain and respiratory issues throughout the week. Ms Ungpakorn is ‘shocked but ecstatic’ to have won the RCN-sponsored award. ‘This recognition is for all the nurses in my service,’ she said. ‘I am so pleased a project that aims to improve the care of patients who are often excluded and ignored has been given such a prestigious national award.’ Awards judge, RCN eastern region council member and independent safeguarding consultant Janice Waters says Ms Ungpakorn ‘overcame multiple and difficult barriers, established and maintained regular contact across agencies, established referral pathways and adjusted the project during the pandemic’.

Nursing Standard. 35, 11, 32-33. doi: 10.7748/ns.35.11.32.s17

Want to read more?

Already subscribed? Log in


Unlock full access to RCNi Plus today

Save over 50% on your first 3 months

Your subscription package includes:
  • Unlimited online access to all 10 RCNi Journals and their archives
  • Customisable dashboard featuring 200+ topics
  • RCNi Learning featuring 180+ RCN accredited learning modules
  • RCNi Portfolio to build evidence for revalidation
  • Personalised newsletters tailored to your interests
RCN student member? Try Nursing Standard Student

Alternatively, you can purchase access to this article for the next seven days. Buy now