Community nursing: core specialist qualification
Intended for healthcare professionals
Careers Previous     Next

Community nursing: core specialist qualification

Nick Evans Health journalist

The NMC’s new all-encompassing specialist practice qualification is for nurses working in any community setting

The Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) has introduced an all-encompassing specialist practice qualification (SPQ) aimed at nurses working in any setting in the community, with the Queen’s Nursing Institute (QNI) planning to build on this by producing a set of standards for nine different fields. Here is what is happening and what it means for nurses, employers and universities.

Nursing Children and Young People. 34, 6, 12-13. doi: 10.7748/ncyp.34.6.12.s6

Want to read more?

Already subscribed? Log in


Unlock full access to RCNi Plus today

Save over 50% on your first 3 months

Your subscription package includes:
  • Unlimited online access to all 10 RCNi Journals and their archives
  • Customisable dashboard featuring 200+ topics
  • RCNi Learning featuring 180+ RCN accredited learning modules
  • RCNi Portfolio to build evidence for revalidation
  • Personalised newsletters tailored to your interests
RCN student member? Try Nursing Standard Student

Alternatively, you can purchase access to this article for the next seven days. Buy now